Sunday, April 18, 2021

Hendrick Moyo is Coca Cola’s best

Extension Gunners enterprising midfielder, Hendrick Moyo, has been voted Coca-Cola’s best player this year.

Moyo faced stiff competition from, among others, his fellow teammate, Kgololo Leteane, and Motlakase’s veteran, Barulaganye ‘Jomo’ Bolofete, but he stood out following his excellent performance throughout the tournament. Moyo was a marvel to watch in the midfield, with his dribbling wizardry and accurate passes.

The memorable game in which Moyo played his heart out was against Mochudi Centre Chiefs in Lobatse.
He scored the only goal of the day after extra time despite the tight security he was under.

It was one match many people did not think Gunners would win because Centre Chiefs were then on fire because they were challenging for league honours while Gunners were struggling.

Even in the finals against Motlakase, Moyo was outstanding and immensely contributed to the three goals Gunners scored against spirited Motlakase. The pint-sized player has won himself P20 000.
Well travelled teammate, Raphael Nthwaane, also won himself the Goalkeeper of the Tournament Award following his gallant performances in the tournament.

Nthwaane played a pivotal role to ensure that the 19-year-old Coca-Cola drought Gunners endured comes to an end and conceded the least number of goals.

Just like Moyo, Nthwaane also played brilliantly in the game that actually catapulted them to the finals against Mochudi Centre Chiefs in the semi-finals and made several mighty saves.
He won himself P10 000.

Coach of the Tournament, on the other hand, went to Oris ‘Boyo’ Radipotsane of Motlakase.
It was in recognition of guiding the Palapye-based team to their first ever finals while struggling in the league.

En-route to the finals, Motlakase beat some giants along the way and these included Uniao Flamengo Santos and BMC.

Despite Gunners being the champions, their coach, Maxwell Moyo, only joined the team when the Coca-Cola tournament was midway through.

Six players shared top goal scorer award of the tournament and shared P15 000 among themselves.
They are Sageby Sandaka and Sekhana Koko of both Mochudi Centre Chiefs and Township Rollers, respectively. Others are Julius Fane (Peace Makers), Teenage Podile (Modipane Black Mambas), Duncan Kgopolelo (Wonder Sporting), Louis Painyane (Kanye Swallows).

The Referee of the Tournament went to Lekgotla Johannes while the Best Assistant went to Moemedi Monakwana.

Rollers passionate supporter, David Ramashaba, won himself Fan of the Tournament.
In the media category, Treasure Mothobi of Broadcasting Services was Radio Presenter of the Tournament while Tiro Lepotokisi of Radio Botswana won the Best Radio Commentator award.
Kagiso Onkatswitswe of Mmegi was Photographer of the Tournament while his colleague, Fredrick Kebadiretse was the Best Sports Writer.


Read this week's paper