Tuesday, March 5, 2024

BCA all set for regional rumble in the jungle

All eyes will be on the Botswana Cricket Association (BCA) as they welcome six nations this weekend to slug it out at the annual ladies tournament which is now in its eight year. The tournament starts this weekend on the 19th to the 26th August at BCA Oval grounds and six nations which have confirmed their participation are Malawi, Namibia, Lesotho, Mozambique, Sierra Leone and host Botswana.

BCA Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Fazal Sheriff says the tournament is a way of giving ladies a chance to showcase talent and skills. “This year, International Cricket Council (ICC) has sanctioned the tournament; the matches will count towards the Rankings of ICC Women’s T20 Globally. This means we will each get a chance to be ranked,” said Sheriff.

Sheriff further highlighted that it is only associate members of ICC who will be taking part in the tournament and get rankings hence South Africa and Zimbabwe not participating this year. “It will be a T20 format played in Round Robin,” he added.

The tournament which is in its eighth year running seeks to unearth hidden talent amongst ladies as well as expose them to different game situations, as such it is always held in August towards the end of the month. Botswana finished second in last year’s edition of the tournament and they are hoping to do well once more. “We need to win and maintain a good position, our girls have been on camp and I am optimistic that they will win,” he added.

The ladies will also have the privilege to interact with the BCA invited Mentor Umpire, Johan Cloepe from South Africa, who was on the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires three years back and also a former ICC umpire.

Team Botswana will comprise of captain Laura Mophakedi and her vice Oabilwe Matome, Thandiwe Legabile, Olebogeng Batisani, Bontle Madimabe, Amantle Mokgotlhe, Botsogo Mpedi, Shameelah Mosweu, Mimmie Ramafifi, Thapelo Modise, Precious Modimo, Florence Samanyika, Vanessa Thari and Onneile Keitsemang. Standby players will be Banyana Gaanamong and Palesa Motswasele.


Read this week's paper