Tuesday, July 16, 2024

BDP losers blame party secretariat

Three Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) Members of Parliament who lost in the last weekend primary elections have blamed the party office for their loss. The MPs says their loss was orchestrated at the party office so that preferred candidates win.

MP for Gabane-Mankgodi constituency, Mmoloki Raletobana, said that many of the voters particularly from Gabane village which has the highest population were denied their right to vote as their names were deliberately removed from the voter’s rolls and transferred to other wards.

Raletobana lost to Lesedi Mmusi who obtained 909 votes while he (Raletobana) got 799 votes; he was followed by Duke Masilo who got 782 votes while Tshepo Wareus trailed with 72 votes.

Mmusi originates from Mankgodi village and he got most of his votes in that ward which won him the constituency. The losers’ concerns are that more people voted in Mankgodi than Gabane which has a higher population and therefore always determines the winner.

However, Raletobana said he will not file any protest with the party structures. Masilo has also protested the results and declared that he would file the protest with the party structures.

A source in the constituency has said that Raletobana’s loss can also be attributed to tribalism; he said Mankgodi people have always vowed that they want to be represented by a person from their tribe.

Mankgodi people are Bahurutshe while Gabane is a home to Balete tribe.

MP for Lentswelatau ÔÇô Mmopane constituency, Major General Moeng Pheto has also blamed the party office for his loss. He said the corrected voters roll was not used as the party sent the original voters roll which was not verified by all candidates. He said many people did not vote because their names did not appear in the voters rolls.
Pheto garnered 2024 votes while Seretse got 2032 votes.

Another loser, Robert Molefhabangwe also complained of the voters’ rolls which were multiplied at the constituency office at their exclusion. He has also protested the results and promised to file protest with the relevant structures.

Masitara garnered 282 votes, Benny Stegling got 257 votes, Moffat Mophuting obtained 151 Eugne Mguni got 118 and Robert Molefhabangwe trailed behind with 115 votes.

Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Peter Siele lost Mmathethe – Molapowabojang┬á ┬áto Dr Alfred Madigle. Sile got 1878 votes while Madigele got 2780 votes. Siele has also protested results, he had demanded a recount but the presiding officer refused urging him to file a complaint with the party structures.

Efforts to get a comment from electoral board chairman, Parks Tafa were futile as his phone ran unanswered.  Tafa had on Monday told Gabz FM that those who have lost and protested are just frustrated by their loss. He said things will be fine as days go by.


Read this week's paper