Thursday, April 25, 2024

Botswana Softball’s Preparations for World Championship Africa Qualifiers gain momentum


Botswana Softball Association (BSA) is forging ahead with plans to prepare the senior national men’s team that will compete at Africa Qualifiers which are scheduled for January 2019 in South Africa (SA).

The BSA will host South Africa (SA) senior men’s team in a two day international friendly tournament from the 30th of November to the 1st of December 2018 at the national diamond.

According to team Botswana Head coach Pako Maforaga, the objective of the tournament is ‘to use the game to finalise the team that will represent the country at the Africa qualifiers games.’ He added that they want to introduce new players so that they may weigh their performance from the experience from the international tournament.

Botswana will have to put out an impressive game at the qualifiers as only two countries that will emerge victorious will secure slots to represent Africa at the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) World Championship games which will be hosted in June 2019.

Maforaga explained that he and his technical team have been putting players through their paces since the start of this past week and ‘are working on the schedule to get the team ready for friendly game.’

“The friendly matches will give us an idea on areas to work on and will also help us to know what to expect,” explained Maforaga.

He observed that their weekend opponents will also be playing in the coming qualifiers hence the need for them to work hard so that by the time the qualifiers come all the mistakes will be ratified.

He said at the end of the friendly matches, the coaches and technical team is expected to evaluate the performance and come up with a solid squad for the upcoming world qualifiers.

The players that will face SA include: Kagiso Mogale, Romeo Tshelametse, Kunyalala Samuel, Gideon Puaka, Buti Buile, Unaswi Gudu, Boitshwarelo Odirile, Edwin Gaofano, Thabiso Radithobane, Mothudi Rannaneng, Jury Manaka, Brian Dekoker, Obusitswe Legothu, Moses Kgosimore, Godson Motsumi, Thapelo Pilane, Tiro Mazulugwa, Tayo Kenosi, Mabedi Senyerero, Eric Simwanza, Odirile Legau, Munashe Chibinyane, Thabo Dhlodhlo, Morulaganyi Moalosi, Baolopi Thamuku, Tony Leburu and Mothusi Shalobane.

Maforaga will lead the team together with Assistant Coach James Moremedi, Pitching Coach Tony Moyo, Manager Nozibonela Payet and Kelebogile Seitei as Head Of Delegation.


Read this week's paper