Saturday, February 24, 2024

Darts association has new committee

Botswana Darts Association (BODA) has finally ushered in a new executive committee that will run for four years.

The association BODA has been running without a president since late last year after the former president resigned to pursue personal commitments.

According to the BODA public relations officer (PRO) Thato Maphorisa, the incoming committee is yet to outline their targets to grow darts in the country.

“Covid-19 has hauled every plan and thankfully our affiliates understand that,” the BODA PRO explained.

With the ongoing pandemic halting in person competition due to suspension of sporting activities, the onus now is on the incoming committee to get the show going.

“The problems are how BODA members are going to start playing darts online because there are online challenges with local and international players,” he said.

“Another will be the BODA constitution which the new committee will like to amend,” Maphorisa added.

Veteran broadcaster and journalist Buyani Zongwane who was unopposed heads the new committee as the president. 

Sam Noga, a veteran player who is part of the founders of Zoopers Darts Club won the Vice President position against Seomile who was the Southern Region Darts League chairmanship and Percyvaal Bagwasi, who plays for Jwaneng Darts club.

Mothusi Moakofi will go for another term in the office as the Secretary General after winning against Kagiso Kitso, the two are election rivals. They contested for the same position in the 2017 elective Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The other results from the election are as follows: Youth Coordinator won by Machena Robert, the tournament Director, Victor Wolfenden, and Pinkie Makhale went unchallenged for the position of the recording secretary.

The position for the treasurer was battled for by two ladies,Ludo Madandume ,a former BODA  and Kerataone Leririma is a former Southern Region Treasurer. Madandume won by 17 votes and four for her challenger.

For the PRO position, the incumbent, Maphorisa, who was nominated late last year after the death of the then PRO Neo Badubi, was unopposed and therefore was given the green light to assume the position.

Addressing the voting rules, he said three positions were not challenged for office. He said if the position has only one nominee, then the candidates shall take the position automatically.

Maphorisa explained that 21 teams, 12 teams in the South and 10 in the North region voted in the elections.

Due to ongoing moratorium on physical sporting activities and meetings, and in line with observing set Covid-19 protocols, the meeting and the resultant vote were held virtually.


Read this week's paper