Sunday, August 14, 2022

Debswana Board changes

Following change of faces in Government, which resulted in a dramatic shake up of the Public Service and the redeployment of officers in the civil service, it also became necessary to adjust Government representations on the Debswana Board partly because of the importance of keeping to the obligations of the agreement between the Botswana Government and De Beers.

There was also the need to realign the system in view of the void brought about by the creation of new positions and departments in Government, such as the Diamond Hub, Transport Hub and others, which the new regime found expedient in enhancing effective government.

Information passed to The Sunday Standard reveals that the Permanent Secretary to the President, Eric Molale, has been appointed as the new Board Chairman for Debswana. He takes over from Dr Akolang Tombale who has been reassigned to the Diamond Hub. A profile on Molale’s background, submitted by Debswana, shows that Molale commands extensive experience pooled from a range of past and present public service appointments over the years since 1981, and academic excellence, which is expected to further enhance the Board’s operations.

Bonny Thebenyane, the company’s Board Secretary said, “Mr. Molale has been Debswana Director since November 4 2003, and will serve as Chairman until December 2008 when Chairmanship of the Board rotates to a nominee of the De Beers Shareholder for the next two calendar years as per the terms of the Shareholders Agreement between Botswana Government and De Beers.”

Molale also holds numerous degrees, which include a B.A. in Economics and Environmental Science, M.S in Agricultural Economics, and a Diploma in Statistics.

According to Debswana’s Public Relations and Corporate Affairs Office, Tombale was appointed the company’s Director on September 26 2001, and his position as director has been replaced by the new Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Minerals, Energy and Water Affairs (MMEWR), Gabaake Gabaake.

Gabaake’s credentials also speak for themselves in terms of what to expect from the new Director. He holds a Bsc degree in Geology and a Master of Science in Hydrogeology and started his professional career at the Department of Geological Survey in July 1986, before transferring to the Department of Water affairs in August 1990 where he quickly rose to the position of Director.

It is further indicated that Gabaake also served as the Performance Improvement Coordinator at MMEWR. Before his appointment as Permanent Secretary at MMEWR, Gabaake was Deputy Permanent at the Ministry of Works and Transport from September 2004 until July 2006 when he was appointed as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Local Government. Against this background, it is expected his technical and leadership skills will bring a balance to the Debswana Board.


Read this week's paper