Sunday, May 29, 2022

Goppani, Butale are Orapa Table Tennis Open champs

Table tennis players across the country once again met in an overwhelming tournament over the Independence Holidays.

The open championship was held at the mining town of Orapa during the just past holidays. Just like in any sports activities, it was jubilation for some players while on the opposite end it was sadness.

It also showed through the level of play exerted by players that table tennis is continuing to move forward looking at the difference of how the level of play is now, compared to previous tournaments.

Rorisang Raesima, a member of the table tennis tournament organizing committee, said that the next tournament, which will be held at Selebi Phikwe, will be even much better.

“Our next event will be the Selebi Phikwe Open where we hope will be even more fireworks,” he said.
In men’s singles and women’s singles, Daffrien Goppani of Nhabe Table Tennis club and Boitshwarelo Butale of BDF Table Tennis club, respectively, walked away with the title of the night, winning themselves P 1000 each.

Smash Maniacs table tennis club came second in both men and women’s singles through Joseph Kgatlampane and Matshidiso Osi, respectively, and they both walked away with P500 each.

Nhabe Table Tennis Club players, Macdonald Qalinge and Follah Leero, came third, winning themselves P250 each.

In the men and women’s doubles, BDF table tennis club scooped position one in both men and women doubles through their players Boipelo Pitsonyane & Thobo Matlhatsi and Boitshwarelo Butale & Tshepiso Rebatenne in men and women’s singles respectively. They all won P500 each and their runner ups, Dafrien Goppani & Macdonald Qalinge of Nhabe Table Tennis club and Matshidiso Osi & Phemelo Gaborapelwe of Smash Maniacs won P300 each.

Bonolo Mabote & Matshidiso Osi of Smash Maniacs Table Tennis club came first in mixed doubles, walking away with P500 whilst their runners up Kennete Santudu & Amogelang Mosimaneakgosi of Nhabe Table Tennis club walked away with P300.

Tiro Motswasele & Boitshwarelo Butale of BDF club and Daffrien Goppani & Follah Leero of Nhabe club got P200.


Read this week's paper