Friday, August 12, 2022

Magosi maintain their lead, Rollers win

Mochudi Centre Chiefs maintained their lead at the top of the b MOBILE Premier League table when they narrowly beat Notwane 2-1 in a game played before a capacity crowd at SSKB Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The defending champions remain unbeaten in the opening five games of the season having won four and drew one. They are on 13 points ahead of second placed Gaborone United (GU) on goal difference.

As expected, Chiefs started strongly bombarding their opponents’ area with ease. It was poor finishing which let the Kgatleng giants down, especially in the absence of leading marksman Kekaetswe ‘Mara’ Moloi. It was Chiefs’ talisman Dirang Moloi who put up another fine performance in the middle of park.

In the end, Moloi and Galabgwe Moyana’s goals were enough to get maximum points for the Kgatleng giants. Kutlo Sejeso equalized through a penalty in the opening half. It was a game which was controversially handled by referee Kebafilwe Ratshipo. The middle man dismissed Chiefs’ defender Thabiso Khunwane in the opening half before Tiroyaone Mooketsi of Notwane suffered the same fate in the second half.

It was Chiefs’ second red card of the season after another defender Mpoeleng Mpoeleng got a red card in the previous game against BMC. Referee Ratshipo failed to stamp his authority throughout the game. This is something which frustrated the supporters who packed the army stadium.

“We knew that we were going to find it difficult playing without an outright striker. In the end it’s good that we collected the maximum points. As for the red cards, I believe they were fair as both players were saving situations,” said Chiefs’ coach Madinda Ndlovu.

On Saturday afternoon in Molepolole, struggling Township Rollers registered their first win of the season when they beat hapless Mogoditshane Fighters 3-0. The result came as a relief to Rollers’ technical team, which has been under immense pressure since the beginning of the season. It was goals from Edwin Olerile, Ntesang Simanyana and Maano Ditshupo which sealed the maximum points for Mapalastina.


Read this week's paper