Thursday, October 28, 2021

Middle order batting gives Gaborone 3 the edge

Gaborone 3 are the champions of this year’s Botswana Cricket Association (BCA) National T20 tournament. They beat Lobatse/Kanye by 7 wickets in 15.5 overs, thanks to their middle order batting partnership of team captain Karabo Modise and Siddarth Rangaswamy, who contributed a combined total of 103 runs to see the team through the finish line.

Chasing a total of 132 runs to win, Gaborone 3 were off to a terrible start as they lost their two opening batsmen, Najaaz Mohamed and Ali Gohar Malek, within the first 3 overs.

Ali Gohar Malek was the first to go out after spending just five minutes at the crease when he was bowled out by Lobatse/Kanye bowler Arif Malek having made only 3 runs off the 3 balls he had faced.
His dismissal meant Gaborone 3 had to call on Modise to partner Mohamed at the crease. The partnership however did not bear any fruit as Arif Malek claimed the wicket seven minutes after dismissing Ali Gohar Malek.

Things nearly got bad for the Gaborone side as Mohamed’s replacement, Noor Ahmad, only spent four minutes at the crease before he too was also dismissed by Arif Malek having only made 4 runs off the 3 balls he faced.

It was then left to Modise and Rangaswamy to stabilize the Gaborone 3 innings and the duo delivered. Modise hit an unbeaten 56 runs off 40 balls while Rangaswamy hit an impressive 47 runs off 39 balls as Gaborone galloped to an easy win. Arif Malek was the pick of Lobatse/Kanye bowlers, having taken 3 wickets off the Gaborone 3 team. Earlier in their opening innings, Lobatse/Kanye, who had won the toss and were selected to bat, managed a lowly 131 runs off their 20 overs for the loss of 9 wickets.

Rallf Sheikh and Deepak Kallazhy were the pick of the Lobatse/Kanye batsmen with 37 runs and 33 runs respectively while Namal Bandara was the best of Gaborone 3 bowlers, claiming 4 wickets for 15 runs in four overs.

For winning the tournament, Gaborone 3 went home with gold medals and a trophy while Lobatse/Kanye had to settle for silver medals. In the individual awards, Gaborone 3 captain Karabo Modise was voted the Best Batsman of the tournament, having accrued 245 runs during the entire tournament.

The award for Best Bowler went to Aarnav Ram of Francistown Cricket Club (FCC) for his 15 wickets in the tournament, while Zain Abbasi was awarded for providing the tournament’s Best Moment for his astounding 123 off 48 balls during the tournament. Deepak Kallazhy was however the biggest winner as he was voted Player of the Tournament for his 255 runs and 10 wickets accrued across the entire tournament.


Read this week's paper