Friday, December 1, 2023

Molefhi releases his lobby list for BDP Congress

Specially Elected Member of Parliament (SEMP) Unity Dow has joined former Selebi Phikwe East legislator Nonofho Molefhi’s lobby list ahead of the upcoming Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) elective congress.

Molefhi’s camp released their lobby list on Monday after weeks of speculation over who will join the former minister for Central Committee elections scheduled for Tsabong from August 27-28, 2022.

While many see his candidacy as coming relatively too late Molefhi told The Telegraph on the side lines of the recent BDP that he had long decided to stand for chairmanship.

“There are certain party protocols to follow before one can announce their candidacy,” he said. Molefhi is set to face the current chairman, and Botswana Vice President Slumber Tsogwane.

His decision to stand has divided opinion within the BDP membership with some suspicious about his ‘sudden’ change of mind particularly following rumours linking him to Botswana Patriotic Front (BPF).

Molefhi has always denied links to BPF. Democrats woke up to the news of SEMP Dow’s candidacy for the Deputy Secretary General position. The former Minister sent a message to party membership of Sunday evening, confirming her decision to face Kanye South legislator Lemogang Kwape who has joined Tsogwane’s Camp. Dow hopes to replace current Deputy Secretary General Shaw Kgathi who is now running for Secretary General under Molefhi’s camp. The decision by Molefhi and Kgathi to stand has not been without drama as the two have alleged harassment by the incumbent chairman Tsogwane’s camp.

The media reported in early July of an incident where Kgathi was reportedly told to leave a ‘closed’ meeting addressed by Tsogwane in Francistown.

“I was told I attended the wrong BDP meeting. That was very embarrassing for me,” Tsogwane told a local publication following the incident. He said however that there was no bad blood between himself and vice president Tsogwane.

“We come a very long way with the VP as family friend and colleague from college. The relationship spans over 40 years,” he told the publication. Kgathi will face another former minister Kavis Kario. Party treasurer Sata Dada remains the only common denominator in the two camps.

Moefhi’s camp comprises Kgathi, Dow, Dada, Tebelelo Seretse (Deputy Treasurer), and additional Members: Tekolo Gosego, Julia Miranda, Bridget Mavuma, and Falaki Mononi. Tsogwane’s lobby list includes Kario, Jagdish Shah (Deputy Treasurer), Kwape, Dada, and additional members Ngaka Ngaka, Neo Kealotswe, Oabile Regoen, Angelinah Sengalo, and Machana Shamukuni.


Read this week's paper