Sunday, August 14, 2022

Motswaledi formally takes over BMD top position

The founding Chairman of the Botswana Movement for Democracy interim committee, Botsalo Ntuane, has resigned his post to make way for Gomolemo Motswaledi.

Ntuane announced at a BMD rally in Gaborone over the weekend that he will now assume the Vice Chairmanship.

BMD supporters exploded in jubilation when Ntuane announced that Motswaledi will henceforth be the party leader.

When standing to acknowledge his appointment, Motswaledi said he is humbled by the support that he enjoys from BMD members.

“I would not be where I am, in my present state of mind, if it was not for your support. Now I am an informed and revitalised man,” he said.

Ntuane was elected as the interim chairman at the March 20th meeting in Mogoditshane, at which the then Botswana Democratic Party’s barata-phathi faction decided to form a breakaway party.
He said the BMD rally was a result of the Mogoditshane meeting, and the interim committee had come to report back to the masses, and also chart the way forward.

“We have indeed delivered on the mandate that we were tasked with. We have succeeded in forming the new party. Today we are here to re-claim our country. We are humbled by the thousands who attended this rally, and we are confident that we will take this party forward in unity and in cooperation,” he said.

Ntuane also said BMD has forged strong ties with trade unions, as evidenced by their active participation in May Day celebrations this year. He also said they will cooperate with other political parties to unseat the ruling BDP.

“The top 5 trade unions told us that they will work with parties that push the agenda of the working class. We will also work with other opposition parties to protect this country and its democratic ideals,” said Ntuane.

He said Francistown mayor Shadreck Nyeku, who has since resigned from BDP, survived being ousted by A- team members in the Francistown City Council because of the support of opposition parties.
“We have not even made any formal agreements yet. I can assure you that BDP candidates will refuse to stand for elections because they will fear the combined might of the opposition,” said Ntuane.
Other members of the interim executive committee of the BMD were tasked with mobilising resources and preparing for the party’s national congress, at which the masses will elect the leadership.
Armstrong Dikgafela will set the stage for the BMD Youth League; Binkie Kerileng will prepare the women’s wing while Ndaba Gaolathe will head the task force that will formulate the party policy. Guma Moyo will mobilise finances while Wynter Mmolotsi and Gilbert Mangole will set up the party secretariat. Kabo Morwaeng will mobilise the party structures, while Sidney Pilane will continue with publicity.

Other members who were appointed to carry the party’s mandate forward include Motlogelwa Sonny Moatlhodi, Shoko Molefhe, Freddy Ramodise and Dr Wilson Thupeng.


Read this week's paper