Monday, April 19, 2021

“The greatest of all time” walks away P 50 000 richer

On Saturday, the country’s renowned athlete, Amantle Montsho, won the Sportsperson of the Year Award for the third year running.

This time, however, she walked away with P50 000 in cash, courtesy of the new sponsor, the Debswana Diamond Company.

Jim Gowans, the Managing Director of Debswana, said that the company will sponsor the award at P50 000 per year for a period of three years.

Montsho also walked away with the Sports Female of the Year award. For many, that came as no surprise. In fact, some people in the audience were murmuring that Montsho should just have a special category of her own because whoever she was up against was just nominated for show.

Her two awards came as no surprise. The theme of the night was the “greatest of all time”.

For some, however, the surprise of the night was the fact that the national football team, the Zebras, was nominated for team of the year but walked away with nothing. The team that won it was the Botswana Athletics Association (BAA)’s athletics 4×400 relay team, which has also done wonders for the nation during the 2010 sporting year.

Daniel Tau, Chairperson of BNSC, revealed that 2010 was by far the best in terms of achievement in sport, and the levels reached provide a sound benchmark for the future. He pointed out Montsho’s historic winning of a Commonwealth gold medal in a new record time as well as three bronze medals by boxers Tirafalo Seoko and Oteng Oteng and a high jumper, Kabelo Kgosiemang, who also walked away with the Sportsman of the Year award.

He took note of the second consecutive qualification to the World Cup by the Netball National Team as well as the unprecedented haul of 51 medals from the 2010 SCASA Zone VI Games.

“We want to believe that these achievements, among others, have had a direct influence on the latest performance by our female National Volley Ball Team, who qualified for the 2011 All Africa Games; and the historic feat by our Senior National Football Team, who became the first African National Soccer Team to qualify for the 2012 AFCON finals,” said Tau.

Once again, the BAA was the big winner of the night, pocketing 7 awards through individuals and group efforts.

Junior male and female sports persons went to Pako Seribe and Leungo Matlhaku, respectively. Both are from the BAA.

The association also won the sports code of the year award as well as the sportsman, sportswoman and sports person of the year award.

Administrator of the Year award went to Gift Nkwe for the work he does for the Karate Association.
Estony Hattingh won the Non-citizen of the Year award for her contribution to local Judo.
Coach of the Year was given to Mpho Bakwadi from Karate, while Atlang Mokgware from tennis won the Umpire/Referee of the Year award.

Best executed development plan went to Botswana Boxing Association (BBA).

Broadcast media house award went to Yarona Fm while Bethani Mando from Botswana Television won the sports journalist of the year.

Mmegi won the print media house of the year while Anastacia Sibanda of Daily News won the Sports Journalist award.

Photographer of the year went to Godfrey Mpuse of BOPA.

Netball’s Tebogo Lebotse and football’s Diphetogo Selolwane were awarded the chairperson’s award.
The event‘s most impressive performance was by Shanti Lo who never fails to amaze with live stage antics.

Strampore was another crowd favourite as well as the KTM choir. Shanti Lo was joined by Mophato and Eugene Jackson.

All in all, the event was well organized.


Read this week's paper