Saturday, July 13, 2024

Scorpion Mountain race ends in style

The Gaborone Cycling Club held the Mokolodi Scorpion Mountain bicycle race on Sunday, September 17, 2006, at the Mokolodi Nature Reserve. Pick n Pay Riverwalk generously sponsored the event.

From the look of things, it was again an outstanding success. Due to the problems with the course marking last year, it was imperative that this aspect of the race was improved, and a serious amount of time and effort was put into making the route superb and well marked. The fact that every rider in the event sailed smoothly through without having to worry about the surface is testimony to the fact that this time around, the route was well planned and taken care of.

Gaborone Cycling Club riders dominated the race, with Shaun Ryan winning the overall event with a stunning ride. Jan de Ruyck came second, while third place went to Angus Boxshall Smith who also won the 1st Masters prize. Keith Moss, also of Gaborone Cycling Club, won the 55km juniors, and Garth Nuttal Smith won the 20km juniors.

Open category
1st overall Sean Ryan won a trophy & a camel bag,
2nd overall Jan de Ryck won a trophy & shopping voucher (Pick n Pay),
3rd overall Fabian Gordon won a trophy & shopping voucher.

Masters’ category
1st overall Angus Boxshall-Smith won a trophy & shopping voucher (Pick n Pay).

Junior category
1st overall Keith Moss won a trophy & headlamp.

1st overall Petra Von Zanjen won a trophy & game drive (Mokolodi).

Open category,
1st overall Gaone Molemane,
2nd overall Jacob Bor,
3rd overall Gareth Nuttal Smith.

Women category,
1st overall Lorna Olivier.


Read this week's paper