Monday, February 26, 2024

Segokgo wins BMD Youth League Presidency

The Botswana Movement for Democracy Youth League (BMDYL) held its inaugural elective congress in Selebi-Phiwe over the weekend.

Delegates from across the country converged at the Makhubu Hall to elect the new leadership of the youth league, which has been run by interim committees since its formation in 2010.

The position of Youth League presidency pitted Phenyo Segokgo of Tlokweng against Rasina Winfred Rasina of Gaborone North, who recently resigned his position as party spokesperson to contest for the youth league position.

The elections were a landslide victory for Segokgo and his team as all members in his lobby list got the nod from the delegates.

Segokgo thumped Rasina with 194 votes to 81.

Tlamelo Mokgatlhane was elected Vice President with 180 votes while his opponent, Maitumelo Mafoko, only got 79 votes.

In a surprise move, an unknown political novice, Gabatsewe Nkgaswe, beat Dimpho Mashaba who was tipped to win the post of Secretary General. She won by 162 votes to Mashaba’s paltry 98.

Another lady, Maina Monwela from Maun, seemed to be the favourite of all the delegates as she ascended the Deputy Secretary General post unopposed. She was the only candidate who stood unopposed.

Kealeboga Ramogobjwa was voted Treasurer General, beating Kealeboga Kebareng by 184 votes to 76.
Namasiku Samunzala became the Deputy Treasurer General. She garnered 192 votes while her competitor, Bonniface Mankanku only got 76 approvals. Gaone Lewanika got an overwhelming approval from the delegates with 204 votes against Bushd Moalosi who lost in absentia by 59 votes.

Tollee Itumeleng became the inaugural National Organizing Secretary after he was voted by 157 delegates against Thatayaone Gaboitaolewe who got 105 votes. The eight additional members who were voted into the committee are Kelesego Sokwe, Kago Wamong, Gomotsegang Karabo, Bernard Buchena, Kebaiphi Ntuane, Mothsidisi Ncube, Marois Mzawazi and Tsolofelo Molotsi.


Read this week's paper