Thursday, May 19, 2022

Annual soccer awards slated for this Saturday

It is all systems go this coming Saturday for the be-Mobile Premier League awards that are billed for Gaborone International Convention Centre.

All eyes will be on the Player of the Season award that carries a mouth watering prize of P50 000.
The first two winners of the prize were the late Joseph Phetogo of Gaborone United and goalkeeper, Kabelo Dambe of Township Rollers.

Already the guaranteed prize is that of the leading goalscorer that is going to Mochudi Centre top marks man, Moemedi ‘Jomo’ Moatlhaping.

Moatlhaping had an outstanding season and scored an incredible 30 goals followed by Tendai Ndoro of Nico United with 21 goals.

Nevertheless eyes will be on Lawrence Majawa, Sekhana Koko, Edwin Olerile (Township Rollers) and Joel Mogorosi of Mochudi Centre Chiefs.

The four players are strong contenders for the player of the season award because they played a pivotal role in helping their teams finish in reputable positions.

As is always the case, the award is likely to go to back-to-back champions, Township Rollers players.

Mogorosi played a huge role while still at Rollers but left for Chiefs when the league was not far from being over. Even at Chiefs, he was outstanding and helped his team to the runners-up position.

The player, who, however, has a bit of an edge over others is Malawian international, Majawa. For the past two seasons, he has been a pillar of the team and helped them to win the league on two successive occasions. Majawa was doing all the dirty work in the middle of the park and that allowed a free attacking rhythm for the team with less resistance.

But with the way selectors do their work, it might be given to a local.

Koko, on the other hand, also had a fantastic season and went on to score 20 goals despite operating from the midfield most of the time.

Koko’s pace, coupled with dribbling wizardry, was a thorn in the flesh for most defenders.

But in earnest, he was being aided by Majawa. For some time, many people were calling for Olerile’s inclusion into the senior national team because he has been consistent for the past four seasons.

He was unfortunate to get injured towards the end of the season and did not play the last three matches. His hard tackles together with timely overlaps were some of the strengths of the team. He also has an eye for long range shots and converted some vital goals for the team.

Coach of the Season would undoubtedly go to Wesley Mondo of Rollers. He is being nominated alongside Oris Radipotsane of Motlakase.

Surprisingly Moltakase have been relegated to the lower division. His nomination raised eyebrows because the only achievement for his team is by guiding it to the finals of Coca-Cola finals.

There will also be Players’ Player of the Year that will be chosen by players.


Read this week's paper