Saturday, October 24, 2020

BMC abattoirs to close for Christmas

Due to low cattle numbers presented for kill since resuming non-quarantine cattle slaughter in Francistown, the Francistown abattoir will close on Friday November 30, 2007, a statement from BMC Chief Executive Officer, M. V. Raborokgwe, said, adding that the last cattle will be received on Tuesday November 27, for kill on Wednesday November 28. The abattoir will re-open for kill on Monday January 7, 2008 to kill quarantine (Non-EU) cattle.

The Lobatse abattoir will close for the holidays on Friday, December 21, 2007. The last cattle arrivals are to be on Monday December 17, for kill on Tuesday, December 18, 2007. The abattoir will re-open for the New Year on Monday, January 7, 2008 with cattle arrivals on Sunday, January 6. It will then shut cattle accepted on Wednesday, January 23 and re-open for kill on Monday, February 18, 2008.

The Francistown abattoir’s schedule in January and February next year will be determined by the number of cattle entered into quarantines for Non-EU kill. More information will be provided later after the number of cattle entered into the quarantines is known. Farmers are requested to diaries these dates and to contact the BMC Livestock Department at 5330400 and 2412227 for Lobatse and Francistown, respectively, for clarification if necessary.

“The BMC thanks Producers for their support during the year and wishes the farming community a very Merry Christmas, a Happy and Prosperous New Year as well as restful holidays,” the statement said.

RELATED STORIES

Read this week's paper

Paul kicked out of Zebras camp

Under 20 boys national team coach, Keitumetse Pio Paul has been relieved of his duties as assistant coach.  He...