Tuesday, April 23, 2024

BOFEPUSU releases a 14 person hit list

Botswana Federation of Public Sector Unions (BOFEPUSU) released the names of Politicians not to be voted for next Friday. Mokgweetsi Masisi tops the list followed by Kitso Mokaila, Botsalo Ntuane, Daniel Kwelagobe, Botlogile Tshireletso, Dumelang Saleshando, Shaw Kgathi, Thapelo Olopeng, Vincent Seretse, Christian Degraaf, Kagiso Molatlhegi, Gaothaetse Matlhabaphiri, Mephato Reatile and Olebile Gaborone The federation listed Masisi as the number one enemy of democracy.

Masisi is described as a dangerous human being to democracy and good governance in Botswana. The former minister of Presidential Affairs has been singled out as being at the forefront of bashing and scolding workers during the 2011 industrial action. Minister of Minerals and Energy Resources Kitso Mokaila, falls in second position because he allegedly belongs of the government power base. The federation argues that since Khama has declared workers and trade unions his enemies then Mokaila becomes a natural enemy by association. MP for Gaborone Bonnington South Botsalo Ntuane takes the third spot.

He is being punished for promising fellow citizens the road to Denmark in the time of misery and despair in the republic, yet it was he who unceremoniously diverted from the road upon which he was one of the captains. Long serving MP, Daniel Kwelagobe occupies the fourth spot. He is been accused of leading and inspiring young Turks out of the ruling party only for him to remain comfortably behind and declared his unyielding loyalty to a house that he despises. In the fifth spot is the Assistant Minister of Local Government Botlogile Tshireletso. Unions say Tshireletso established herself as one of the great parrots of the regime and its defenders amidst declining human rights and poor conditions of service of workers in the country.

Botswana Congress Party (BCP) President, Dumelang Saleshando is the only opposition MP appearing in the list. Saleshando occupies the sixth spot. He is being accused of carrying his organisation, the (BCP) out of the opposition coalition, and thus reneging on his promises to the workers which he even made proclamations oath about and asked that any party that gets out of the coalition be punished. Acting Minister in the Ministry of Presidential Affairs Shaw Kgathi is on spot seven. The unions say his obsession and arrogance in posing loyalty to the regime has seen him seeing everything wrong with alternative voices in the country and thus shows great contempt for other social players. Spot number eight is occupied by Thapelo Olopeng. The unions say Olopeng is the president’s right hand man and does not deserve an entrance to parliament as he will only increase numbers of a clan that is destroying the democratic credentials of this country. Acting Minister in the Ministry of Youth Sports and Culture Vincent Seretse is at spot nine.

Trade unions say as the Minister Seretse saw nothing wrong with wearing the tittles of Honourable Minister and court resident simoultaneously with corruption charges hovering over him. The 10th spot is occupied by the Minister of Agriculture Christian Degraaf. He is being accused of bringing Botswana Meat Commission (BMC) to its knees but failed to heed the nation’s calls to step down. MP for Gaborone South Kagiso Molatlhegi is on the 11th spot. Molatlhegi is punished for consistently been anti-workers and trade unions trying hard to please his master who has the same attitude towards workers and trade unions. At spot number 12 is Assistant Minister at the presidential Ministry, Gaothaetse Matlhabaphiri.

The trade unions say he promised better relations between government and trade unions but went failed to honour his promise. Mephato Reatile occupies the 13th spot. He is described as a man who can’t keep promises when principles clash with his personal desires. Assistant Minister of Local Government, Olebile Gaborone is the last man on the hit list. Gaborone has been fingered for the hit because he is allegedly a beneficiary of undemocratic intervention by President Khama after he lost elections at party level. The names appearing in the hit list was the decided by the federation leadership.


Read this week's paper