Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Chess Federation preps for July elections

Botswana Chess Federation (BCF) affiliates have nominated Alex Mpuisang as the election committee chairperson for its upcoming elective congress.

Mpuisang was elected along with Moakofi Notha and Vincent Masole. The trio was elected during the BCF Open General Meeting (OGM) over the weekend.

The election of the committee is now expected to open way for those interested in standing to start active campaigns.

Candidates standing for position in the BCF executive are allowed to declare interest three months before elections.

At the moment, it is still not clear who would be contesting for executive positions as the election committee was yet to be appointed.

According to BCF public relations officer (PRO), Kutlwano Tatolo, the expressions of interest to contest for BCF executive positions are to be submitted to the appointed elections committee.

Tatolo says the campaigns are only open after the candidates have registered for the vacant positions. 

Now with the committee in place, affiliates are expected to know their candidates as they will be working hard in the next two months to campaign for the positions.

For a long time now, campaigning teams in the BCF have managed to keep animosities under control during campaigns and this year is expected to be the same.

However, all eyes will be on the BCF to see who will be willing to take over as the current committee ‘will leave bigger shoes to fill.’

The current committee is lauded for achieving much in local and international grounds during its term in office.

Whoever takes over will have some challenges to face as the BCF goes into the elections with veiled funds issues as some sponsorship deals are lapsing.

The current executive committee passes the button this year after four years of assuming office for four years.

Tough competition is expected in the coming elective Annual General Meeting scheduled for 31st July as BCF will welcome the new committee.

BCF vacant positions include, president, vice president, vice president technical,

BCF president, secretary general, PRO, treasurer, technical and ratings director, development director and additional members.


Read this week's paper