Thursday, June 30, 2022

Coca-Cola Quarterfinals promise fireworks

Top five premier league teams will be locking horns with other league teams on the 12th and 14th of March 2010 in the Coca Cola Cup. The “red machine”, Gaborone United, will be hosting Mogoditshane Fighters.

Defending champions, Uniao Flamingo Santos, will tackle the Premier League log leaders, Township Rollers.

The Gabane youngsters, who display good play with intense energies, have a potential of bringing down the premier league giants as they eliminated Mochudi Centre Chiefs in the last Coke Cup.

However, Rollers also display professional play on the pitch. They hold the record for winning the cup more than any other club after five victories.

The other two premier league giants will be going to Francistown.

Two ghetto outfits will determine who owns the city. Unpredictable Ecco City Greens will be hosting Extension Gunners, who are playing well of late, and are in respectable position three in the premier league.

In their last Coke Cup game, they walloped Mathaithai 3-1 in Molepolole.
Ecco has never tasted the championship of the Coca Cola Cup. However, it beat three time champions, BDF XI 1-0 to go through to the quarter finals in the last game. The closest ECCO came to winning the cup was in 2007 when they lost to BMC in the finals.

Second placed Mochudi Centre Chiefs will visit Taffic in Francistown.
Taffic, however, is the only team in the first division to make it to this year’s quarter finals. They found their place after beating Police XI in a penalty shoot out. Despite that they have won the cup three times.

Magosi, as Chiefs is affectionately known, has quality players who all have a potential of scoring goals. With their key players Sekhana Koko, Othusitse Moalosi, Tshepo Motlhabankwe and Mweukou Mosunda, who currently is in the race for the green boot in the premier league, is likely to sail through Francistown based Taffic.

They walloped Letlapeng 5-1 in their last Coke Cup game at Molepolole and have won this cup once in 2008.


Read this week's paper