Saturday, July 13, 2024

Coca-Cola soccer tournament enters climax stage

The lucrative Coca-Cola tournament is now entering the climax stage where a lot of surprises are expected.

The tournament has already reached the last 16, which will be played this coming weekend.

In most cases teams from the lower divisions give the so-called big ones a torrid time. Already a lower division team, Modipane United, has already claimed the scalp of Premier League perennial campaigners, Police XI. Although no team from the lower division has ever won the Coca-Cola Cup, they normally fight all the way to the finals.

Some of the memorable first division teams that went to the finials are the likes of Mokgosi Young Fighters in 1997 who were eventually defeated by Notwane.

Most teams would want to console themselves with winning the Coca Cola Cup, seeing that the league championship will be difficult to wrestle away from Township Rollers.

The first and last time Chiefs won the Coca-Cola Cup was in 2008 when they thrashed Uniao Flamingo Santos 5-2.

This coming weekend Chiefs will battle it out with Kanye Swallows.

In their history, GU has been to the finals a couple of times but they are yet to win the tournament. Their caretaker coach, Letang Kgengwenyane, told the Telegraph Sport that they will also fight hard to win silverware this season.

“Lets’ be honest, the maximum points we can get is 60 and Rollers are already on 57. Only a miracle will help us win the league. So our intention is to finish in a reputable position in the league and then win the Coca-Cola Cup. We want to re-write history books and win the tournament. I have even told the players to fight hard,” he said.

GU will play their hoodoo team, Santos.

Gunners will have to also pull up their socks to beat much improved Nico United.

Gunners won the inaugural tournament in 1992 and since then they are yet to win it again.

In other matches, Miscellaneous will slug it out against either Tafic or BMC. Five time winners, Township Rollers, will play the winner between Ecco City Green and Black Peril.
Modipane United will face Motlakase while Comets plays BDF XI.
Notwane will face Ramotswa side, Killers Giants.
Previous Coca Cola Cup winners

1992: Gunners
(Gunners 3, Tafic 2)

1993: Township Rollers
(Township Rollers 4, GU 1)

1994: Township Rollers
Township Rollers, 2 Gunners 0

1995: Notwane
(Notwane 3, BDF XI 1)

1996: Township Rollers
(Township Rollers 2, BMC 0)
1997: Notwane
(Notwane 2, Mokgosi 0)

1998: BDF XI
(BDF XI 1, Jwaneng
Comets 0)

1999: Mogoditshane Fighters
(Mogoditshane Fighters 3,
FC Satmos 0)

2000: Mogoditshane Fighters

2001: Tasc
Tasc 2, Gunners 0

2002: Tafic
(Tafic beat Tasc on penalties)

2003: Mogoditshane Fighters
Mogoditshane Fighters 1, Township Rollers 0)
2004: BDF XI
(BDF 2, Fighters 0)

2005: Township Rollers
(Township Rollers 3,

2006: Notwane
(Notwane 2, BDF XI 1)

2007: BMC
(BMC 5 ECCO City 4,
after penalties)

2008: Mochudi Centre Chiefs
(Mochudi Centre Chiefs 5, Uniao Flamengo Santos 2

2009: Uniao Flamengo Santos
(Santos 4 BDF XI 2 Pen)

2010: Township Rollers
(Township Rollers 3 Mochudi Centre Chiefs 1. After ext)


Read this week's paper