Thursday, June 13, 2024

Kgosi Gaborone retains Ntlo Ya Dikgosi Chairmanship

Batlokwa Paramount Chief Kgosi Puso Gaborone has retained Ntlo Ya Dikgosi Chairmanship.

Of the 33 votes cast on Monday, Gaborone obtained 20 while a dark horse contender Galeakanye Modise of Tswapong region got 13.

Kgosi Gaborone became Chair of Ntlo Ya Dikgosi 6 years ago after the death Kgosi Seepapitso IV of Bangwaketse.

Bangwaketse Kgosi Malope II of Bangwaketse was unopposed for position of Deputy Chair.

Addressing the media after re-election, Gaborone indicated the terms for the positions will overlap until the next national elections- meaning the positions for the election of Chairmanship and Deputy will be conducted at different times until only after the general elections 2019.

Vice president Masisi promised the traditional leaders his Government unequivocal support.

He rubbished claims that the integrity of Ntlo Ya Dikgosi under his Government rule was undermined and ridiculed.

Masisi will also denied suggestions that his office doors were closed and unwelcoming, calling on the traditional leaders to visit his office time and again for assistance and help.


Read this week's paper