Wednesday, September 27, 2023

BBA brings 3×3 tour stop tourney

Botswana Basketball Association (BBA) is bringing back the sport post Covid-19 new normal through the 2020 3×3 tour stop tournament.

The event is an open tourney thus female teams between 18 to 40 years and males from 18 to 60 years can register to participate.

BBA will host the event in four regions starting in Greater Gaborone (Gaborone), North East, North West (Maun) and Central (Palapye).

The BBA league is one the most competitive leagues in the country which requires players to be always active and in good shape.

After months of no basketball competitions due to coronavirus impacts, National 3×3 Coordinator Shalosh Matsetse and BBA executives decided to introduce basketball in the new normal by organising the 3×3 event.

Matsetse explained that in order to keep the players active while the league is on break, there is no limit in the number of teams taking part in the 3×3 event.

3X3 is a 10 minutes game, a shorter version of basketball which was adopted as one of the Olympic Games. The 3×3 tour stop  event is a FIBA accredited  tournament so it is mandatory for teams  to  register online at ( so they get ranking points and compete in FIBA endorsed events.

The winners from the different regions will face off for the   bragging rights of the national champion at the tournament finals.

“The tournament follows the same format as Young Lions Cup and the only difference is that it is locally based, so there’s no international event after the championship finals. BBA has organised many tour stops across the country so that we have a manageable number of teams per event. I am hoping to have teams registering in large numbers as the organisers bring back basketball under the new normal,” he observed.

Greater Gaborone and North East will start off their two-day tournament from 21st until the 22nd November 2020 in their regions.

The duo will be followed by North West and Central who will commence their competitions on the 28th to the 29th November. So far six teams have already registered to compete during the tournament, Lebrontourage, Phoenix, Kamawe 4, M.K Wizards, Motown, and Tigers on 3.


Read this week's paper