Friday, June 21, 2024

Paramount chiefs dominate Ntlo Ya Dikgosi

Incumbent Chairperson of Ntlo Ya Dikgosi, Puso Gaborone has retained the position.
He is assisted by Kgisi Lotlamoreng of Barolong.

While Kgosi Gaborone was unopposed for the Chairmanship, the tussle was between Lotlaamoreng II, Tshipe Tshipe of Mahalapye region and Oreagetse Machilidza of Boteti region for the Deputy Chairmanship.

Tshipe was fighting to retain the position of Deputy Chairperson.

For the time immemorial, only two ordinary dikgosi have assumed positions of Deputy Chairmanship including Ebineng Potsoeng of Maun region and most recently Tshipe.
Lotlaamoreng has previously deputised Gaborone.

Accepting a humble gesture bestowed on him alongside his deputy, Gaborone for his part promised the traditional leaders to continue his usual demeanor of consultation and cooperation without any favour to strengthen further the already formidable and amicable relationship.

To the Vice President and Deputy Speaker present at the occasion, Gaborone also promised the same on their new roles in the wake of the national elections, reminding them of his persistent knock at their doors to seek advice and services the House may need from them time to time.
An eloquent, hands on personality, Gaborone inherited the Chairmanship from the revered and renowned late Bangwaketse paramount chief Seepapitsi IV following his death and he has never looked back.


Read this week's paper